Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
Mitsubishi Technician Challenge!

rkerby
New User

Jan 4, 2006, 3:53 AM

Post #1 of 12 (1798 views)
Shortcut
Mitsubishi Technician Challenge! Can't Post

I have had this question posted here and other sites and I have been told that it will be hard to determine the problem based on the picture I have below. The problem that I am having has to do with the convergence of my Mitsubishi VS-45501. This is my first time to work on a TV...so any help is much appreciated. I was told by a technician that all 3 tubes would have to be replaced??? Could STKs be the problem and if so where would I look to find their part number? I have tried to adjust the convergence but the red CRT would not adjust high enough to align with the cross hair. However the red CRT does go further down the screen than the blue CRT. Leading me to believe that the range of the convergence adjustment isn't the issue but rather the placement of the red CRT is the issue. Is there someway to manually 'aim' the CRT...as it seems to be pointing to low on the screen. Even if the alignment of the CRT is adjustable there still is the problem of the hourglass effect taking place in the red and blue colors. Also, where could I find schematics for this TV...assuming I will need them to fix this problem. Here is a picture of what the TV is doing.

kuhurdler
User

Jan 5, 2006, 9:00 PM

Post #2 of 12 (1774 views)
Shortcut
Re: [rkerby] Mitsubishi Technician Challenge! [In reply to] Can't Post

Replace the STK chips first, because its cheap. More than likely it could solve your issue. and don't even consider physically moving the CRTs. It looks like the Blue convergence is the problem to me, not the red. But replace all the STK chips at the same time regardless.

-RiddledTV.com
http://www.riddledtv.com/forums/

(This post was edited by kuhurdler on Jan 5, 2006, 9:02 PM)

rkerby
New User

Jan 5, 2006, 9:47 PM

Post #3 of 12 (1768 views)
Shortcut