Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
Opinions on tvs

Paulpablo
Enthusiast

Aug 16, 2009, 8:45 PM

Post #1 of 6 (856 views)
Shortcut
Opinions on tvs Can't Post

As a technician myself, I would like to hear all of your opinions on Hi-Def and LCDs,Plasma ,DLP and reliability and repair ability! I think the so called modern day tv is nothing more than a computer monitor with a tv tuner hung in side! I am repairing about 60 percent of them and the the rest is just time consuming no pay! I do charge up front money for my time, that means NO FREE ESTIMATES! Getting parts is a real headache, that is if you can locate them. I welcome your opinions!

jts1957
Veteran

Aug 17, 2009, 2:18 AM

Post #2 of 6 (838 views)
Shortcut
Re: [Paulpablo] Opinions on tvs [In reply to] Can't Post

I miss "the good old days" already!

-------------------------

FUXER
User

Aug 17, 2009, 8:05 AM

Post #3 of 6 (830 views)
Shortcut
Re: [Paulpablo] Opinions on tvs [In reply to] Can't Post

You have got to be joking Paulpablo!, The old tv,s lasted many years & when faulty required skill to locate faulty part/s. The new RUBBISH is designed to last about 3-5 years- when a board fails- it takes no skill to replace the board/s- just a large wallet to buy- & then again in case of plasma- sometimes pdp is faulty-too!. Yes one can fit usb etc to computers to get tv display- but computers are made to a higher standard than ANY tv(except for early Jap made sets- I remember a joker throwing out his old tv-Hitachi- he said lasted 25 years before "blowin up!"- I offered to fix cheaply- he answered"I don't want the @#$%^ fixed- Ihave bought anew one!". Anyway was only a few dry joints- & that tv is giving as good a picture as the day it was made!.( far better than most modern crt sets). Summing up- ALL modern tv,s are planned obsolescence!.

rrobor
Veteran

Aug 17, 2009, 12:17 PM

Post #4 of 6 (826 views)
Shortcut
Re: [FUXER] Opinions on tvs [In reply to] Can't Post