Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
Remote Control

Nova6
New User

Jan 25, 2010, 7:53 PM

Post #1 of 23 (1413 views)
Shortcut
Remote Control Can't Post

I have a Panasonic Remote control that I have been using for about 11 years. It is very hard for me to throw away since all other RC came with other Panasonic TVs, VCR and DVD recorders that I bought after this TV are all crap compared to this old one. <br> <br>I checked its IR rays through a camera, it doesn't light up when I press the power button, but I see all other remote's IR light through the camera. So obviously there is no IR output for this one. <br> <br>I opened up and cleaned all the button contacts and changed the battery. Now, which component that I have to check?
[URL=http://img69.imageshack.us/i/remote1.jpg/]
[URL=http://img69.imageshack.us/i/remote3.jpg/]
[URL=http://img69.imageshack.us/i/remote2.jpg/]

(This post was edited by Nova6 on Jan 25, 2010, 8:01 PM)

Ron.M
Veteran

Jan 25, 2010, 8:23 PM

Post #2 of 23 (1407 views)
Shortcut
Re: [Nova6] Remote Control [In reply to] Can't Post

Nova6;...
There is a small varity of problems with remotes...
Lets start with how you cleaned the pads & contacts
on the board...<<.I need a specific detailed answer to that...
As far as what to check;...
Do you have a DVM (Digital Volt Meter) or a DMM (Digital Multi Meter)???
What electronics/TV repair background do you have ???
There are a couple of tests we can make , but
I need to know what experience you have...
Please let me know....

Later...Ron.M....Cool.....
Veteran & Retired TV technician

Nova6
New User

Jan 25, 2010, 9:01 PM

Post #3 of 23 (1400 views)
Shortcut
Re: [Ron.M] Remote Control [In reply to] Can't Post

Hi Ron, Thank you

I cleaned with a swab soaked in ethyl alcohol. I rubbed it on the rubber button contacts where the PC circuit junction touches as well as the PC board surface.

I have a DMM and a soldering Iron. This DMM doesn't have the Capacitor option.