Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
wood-framed RCA

shiftless
New User

Nov 27, 2005, 8:59 PM

Post #1 of 6 (1251 views)
Shortcut
wood-framed RCA Can't Post

Hi, I have an 88 RCA TV, one of the wood framed models. I love this TV! But unfortunately there is a problem with it. When watching it, every 10-15 minutes or so it randomly "cuts out". What I mean is it acts like the power to it was removed for a split second. The picture and sound goes out, then a second later comes back on, in the same manner it does when you first turn it on, but a lot quicker cause it's already warmed up. I have been trying to see if I can detect a pattern to this behavior but it seems completely random.

I am thinking there may be some problem in the power supply circuitry? If someone who has seen this problem before can give me some good pointers, I believe I can fix the problem myself. I have some experience with electronics troubleshooting and repair though I have never worked on a TV before and I don't have an o-scope.

Thanks!

shadetree
Veteran

Nov 27, 2005, 9:06 PM

Post #2 of 6 (1247 views)
Shortcut
Re: [shiftless] wood-framed RCA [In reply to] Can't Post

sounds like a loose solder connection tap on tv chassis with screwdriver handle while holding mirror in front of screen be carefull what you touch

shiftless
New User

Nov 27, 2005, 10:06 PM

Post #3 of 6 (1247 views)
Shortcut
Re: [shadetree] wood-framed RCA [In reply to] Can't Post

Ok, thanks, I'll try that and report back.

shiftless
New User

Nov 28, 2005, 9:40 AM

Post #4 of 6 (1242 views)
Shortcut