Free Games TV Forums

Main Index FORUM
HOME
Search Posts SEARCH
IN
Rules & FAQ RULES
F.A.Q.

Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
Smoke came out of the back of my TV... what pieces do I need?

Malkavian
New User

Feb 3, 2009, 2:43 AM

Post #1 of 13 (3211 views)
Shortcut
Smoke came out of the back of my TV... what pieces do I need? Can't Post

Here's my nightmare :
I bought this tv about 5 months ago : http://www.hdtvsolutions.com/Olevia_747i_Review.htm
It's a LCD 47' Olevia.
After 1 week, I started having sound issues (no sound at all unless I opened and closed the tv about 50 times).
And after 3 weeks, I turn it on and it shut off after .2 sec. Then I saw/smell smoke coming out of the back. From then I haven't been able to do anything with it (power supply right?)

The TV is supposed to be warantied for 3 years. I've been calling those fuckers (olevia) for 3 months every 2 days or so and they never wanted to honor their warranty saying they were out of this model in canada or the canadian label printing macine was broken or other ridiculous bs.
Then a couple of weeks ago they went bankrupt. So basicly I've had this huge ass (170lbs) broken tv sitting in my living room for about 4 months now.

I want to try to repair it myself...
I'm thinking about buying this : http://cgi.ebay.com/...ksid=p3286.m20.l1116
I own an informatic company and I've built >100 pcs so I know my way around... but I've never touched a TV. Do you think replacing this part would be too complicated? Do you think there are strong chances it's the power supply and that changing it would do the trick?

BTW, the TV was plugged directly to the wall! If it may help you pinpoint the faulty piece...

Thanks!!!

(This post was edited by Malkavian on Feb 3, 2009, 2:45 AM)

rrobor
Veteran

Feb 3, 2009, 9:58 AM

Post #2 of 13 (3203 views)
Shortcut
Re: [Malkavian] Smoke came out of the back of my TV... what pieces do I need? [In reply to] Can't Post